

Dear Professor Fernando Hamuy Diaz de Bedoya,

Last year I was appointed to Chair MSIF's International Medical and Scientific Board (IMSB). One of my first tasks is to establish an IMSB Executive Committee that can optimally advise on scientific and medical issues relevant across the entire global MSIF movement. As well as finding replacements for existing members who are standing down this year, I am expanding the Committee to increase its professional, cultural, and geographical representation.

I am writing today to personally invite you as the President of LACTRIMS to become a member of the IMSB Executive Committee. I am inviting the Presidents of all the main regional TRIMS networks to join the Committee to increase geographic representation and increase collaboration between the IMSB and the TRIMS networks. If you accept, your membership of the Executive Committee would last for as long as your Presidency, for a maximum of three two-year terms in line with the IMSB Terms of Reference.

Members of the IMSB Executive Committee are expected to meet once in person during the calendar year at the annual ECTRIMS meeting and all other meetings take place by conference call. These will not be more frequent than once a month. The core role of a member can be found in the attached Terms of Reference and includes the awarding of the annual MSIF McDonald Fellowships and the biennial Charcot Award, monitoring and contributing to IMSB outputs, and endorsing new IMSB member nominations.

I appreciate it is an extremely busy and stressful time for the medical community but now more than ever people with MS need us to work together across country borders. I hope you will join me, the Deputy Chair Professor Jorge Correale, and the rest of the Executive Committee to continue our vital work.

Yours Sincerely,

Professor Brenda Banwell Chair of the IMSB

3/Januell

Professor Jorge Correale Deputy Chair of the IMSB

Skyline House 200 Union Street London SE1 0LX United Kingdom

+44 (0)20 7620 1911 info@msif.org www.msif.org

Founder Sylvia Lawry (USA)

Presidents Emeriti

Sarah Phillips (UK) Peter W. Schmidt (USA) Peter A. Schweitzer (USA) James D. Wolfensohn (USA) Weyman T Johnson (USA)

President and Chair Mai Sharawy (Egypt)

Vice Chair Marie Vaillant (Canada)

Treasurer Vicky Annis (UK)

Secretary Martin Stevens OBE (UK)

Board Members

Wissam Al Haj (Lebanon) Brenda Banwell (USA) Christian Bardenfleth (Denmark) Mario Battaglia (Italy) Pedro Carrascal (Spain) Guillaume Courault (France) Magdalena Fac-Skhirtladze (Poland) Peter Galligan (USA) Desmond Graham (Australia) Klaus Høm (Denmark) Dimitra Kalogianni (Greece) Liesbeth Kooij (Netherlands) Matthew Miles (Australia) Nick Moberly (UK) Viresh Oberoi (India) Alessandro Perfetti (Italy) Kim Phillips (USA) Andrea Prato (Uruguay) Herbert Temmes (Germany) Ana Torredemer (Spain) Pamela Valentine (Canada) Charles van der Straten Waillet (Belgium) Cynthia Zagieboylo (USA)

Honorary Life Board Members

Leon Cligman (France) Alistair M Fraser (Canada) Jürg Kesselring (Switzerland) Sarah Phillips (UK) David L Torrey (Canada)

Chief Executive Peer Baneke

An NGO in official relations with the World Health Organization (WHO)

A charity and company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales.

Registered office as above Registered Charity No. 1105321 Company No. 05088553